It’s the Pioneer Life for Me

Sunday morning began with a rude awakening…and not just because we lost an hour of sleep due to Daylight Saving Time. I rose early, as I had to be at church to do one of my church jobs, and started the shower. Several minutes later, the water was still cold. The hot water heater had gone KAPUT! Seeing how there is NO WAY that I can go out in public without washing my hair and showering, I was forced to wash my hair with frigid well water. Showering (I’m using this term VERY loosely) involved a washcloth, a bar of soap, and a tiny pan of hot water that I had to heat on the stove.

Needless to say, the past couple days have not been fun. My aunt mentioned something about how this is how things were in the “Good Old Days.” Well, I’m not certain why people are calling them the “Good Old Days.” There has been nothing good about this…other than the fact that carrying huge pans of water upstairs for your “shower” is a great arm workout.

Having no hot water is slightly better than other previously experienced life inconveniences such as Power Outages Lasting Over an Hour (No water since we have a well, no heat other than fireplace, no electricity. After an hour, you start to feel as if there is no hope and you will be without life’s amenities FOREVER. And then the neighbor kids show up since you’ve got a ridiculously loud generator running and, hey, could they charge their phone!) and The Well Pump Failure of 20-somthing-or-other (200+ feet of pipe had to be pulled out of the ground TWICE to fix this problem.) And let us not forget the Great Car Disaster where the battery died AND a tire went flat all in one day.

We are all so thankful that the hot water guys are here today. Hopefully we’ll soon be all set to get a real shower tonight.

DSCN2195.JPGNow, on to more enjoyable things: Finish #13, Home by Harlan Coben.

I’m definitely going to be checking out more books by Harlan Coben. Last year I listed to Fool Me Once by him and really enjoyed it, which prompted me to check out Home. I was totally shocked by the ending to this story. I love it when a book can lead you in one direction, then, BAM, you get hit with something totally unexpected.

 

Leave a Reply

