Tidying, Cleaning, Weeding out, OH MY!

DSCN2172.JPGMy poor, poor family! I never should have checked this book out of the library. Finish #10 for 2017 was The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up (The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing). I had heard good things about this book. So many people were raving about it when it was first published. I can see why. After just the first few pages I was fired up and ready to get my house sparking with joy!  (Well, I was at least ready to determine exactly which of my possessions sparks joy within me.)

The problem with books like these is that they don’t take into account the fact that many of us live with OTHER people. We can’t just have things around that spark joy for us. We’ve got to make room for what sparks joy in others. With five people in our home, that’s four people’s stuff surrounding ME that might not bring me any joy at all. (Of course, if it brings my husband or kids joy, then it should bring me joy also because I want them to be happy.)

So, back to being fired up…I don’t know if it was just this book or if it could have had something to do with the fact that the sun was FINALLY shining after months of gloomy days and I could actually SEE the dust and mess that had accumulated during those gray days, but I was certainly ready to get the spring cleaning under way.

I started with the books. Call me a rebel. She told readers to start with clothes. Now that I’m nearly done with the books, I’m looking for my next area to dig into. I’m feeling more joyful already. (And the house is breathing a sigh of relief that some of the dusty tomes are bagged up for Goodwill, have become kindling as was the case with some ancient, falling apart Little House on the Prairie books, or are waiting for a buyer on eBay.)

I certainly won’t take this tidying and eliminating as far as one of the author’s clients who was quoted in the book as stating that she even got rid of her husband! I’m not certain the author should have used this woman’s testimony in her book.

 

 

Leave a Reply

