Finish #97 – Falling

I did a bad thing. A very bad thing. I hate to even admit to it, but I will…

I read the ending of Finish #97, Falling by Jane Green, before I was halfway through the book. Yes, I read ahead.

(Insert gasp of astonishment from all those who would never dream of reading ahead here. Insert murmurs of judgment and condemnation here also. Now that that’s out of the way, let’s move on!)

Is reading ahead a sin? It should be. There’s always guilt involved when I do it. I mean, authors spend a lot of time perfecting their stories, don’t they? Why should I skip all the carefully crafted build-up and jump right to the end?

So, why do I do it? Because I can! It’s like being able to see the future, and I like it!

Usually.

Not this time.

Jane Green, how could you give us that ending???? I can’t even tell you all what was so horrible without ruining the story for you. Just heed my advice: DO NOT READ AHEAD! Seriously. You will be so disappointed, so shocked, so, well, angry, that you will put the book down and wonder if you should even bother continuing.

But continue I did.

I learned a lesson, though. I don’t think I’ll ever read ahead again.

dscn2035Ending aside. I enjoyed this book. I would have enjoyed it more had I read it as it was intended-from page one to page whatever without any skipping ahead. I do believe that I will be looking for more books by Jane Green. I want her to know, though, that if she ever gives me another ending like this one, I’ll revolt by never reading another one of her books!

Leave a Reply

