Finish #96 – Operation Yes

As 2016 comes to a close, I’ve been thinking a lot about goals for next year. I will not call them RESOLUTIONS. I refuse to use that word. I read somewhere recently that a large percentage of people stop keeping their New Years resolutions within the first two weeks…or something like that. I’m one of those people…and the resolution that I often give up on has something to do with diet or exercise.

So instead of resolutions, I’m going to be working on goals in the coming year. I may share some of them as we enter 2017, but since there are still a few days left in 2016, there’s no reason to worry about them yet! I will guarantee, though, that reading 100 books will again be on my list of goals for 2017. I found an interesting blog that I skimmed last night that had something to do with making a goal journal. It seemed like a neat idea, but I don’t know if that is something that I could keep up with for a whole year.

Last month I was concerned that I wouldn’t make it through 100 books this year. There were just so many left to read! Now, here I am with only 4 more to go! Yeah!

Finish #96 is Operation Yes by Sara Lewis Holmes. I started reading this book to middle daughter and son last year. By last year, I mean last school year. It was supposed to be the last book that we read before summer vacation. Well, you can probably figure out, considering how long it took us to finish it, just how well middle daughter and son enjoyed it.

DSCN2032.JPG

Yep. Not much.

I didn’t think it was too bad. However, there were two great heaving sighs of relief that could be heard as we finished the last page…one from each kid. Their greatest complaint had to do with how much description the author used.

I think this book may be the last book that I read aloud to the kids. Insert sad face here! At their ages, though, they can read so much faster on their own and prefer to do so. I’ve been reading aloud to them for over 17 years, starting with the piles of board books that I would read to Eldest when she was a baby. We’ve enjoyed all sorts of stories together over thousands of hours! We’ve enjoyed funny stories, poetry, funny poetry, brainy books about science-y things and historical things, stories from all over the world…

Reading together was truly one of the greatest joys of teaching them at home.

Leave a Reply

