Finish #60 – Their Eyes Were Watching God

P9171819.JPGI’ve learned a couple lessons over the past few weeks. Lesson #1: A 300 pound treadmill is STILL heavy when FIVE people are moving it down a hill on a handcart. Lesson #2: Don’t pick a secret word for banking purposes that you are embarrassed to say to the customer service guy over the phone. I won’t tell you what that secret word was, as then it wouldn’t be secret anymore. Let’s just say that he got a laugh out of the whole thing, and my face got red. As for the 300 pound treadmill…I LOVE IT, which is a good thing since we had to wait a whole month, thanks to some shipping issues, for it to arrive at MC Sports. Do you know what happens when you take a month off from running? Nothing good, that’s what! I could barely plod through 2 miles when I got back at it. Thankfully, I’m getting back to where I was. What’s really exciting is now I can go both uphill and downhill, which I couldn’t do on my circa 1999 treadmill.

Over these past few days when I haven’t been running or creating embarrassing secret words, I read Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston. I believe this book was on a list that I saw in high school of books that one should read before taking the AP English test. (This was back in 90s, by the way.) Guess who didn’t read it back then? Me. And you know what? I’m glad. I’ve found that many of the books that we read in high school, or are told we should read in high school, are best read as an adult. As an adult I can understand the characters and what motivates them better. As a teen, you just don’t have enough life behind you to really understand adult characters and adult issues.

As for this book, I found myself sad throughout, especially because you know right from the beginning that things just don’t look like they are going to work out all that well for Janie, the main character. The only challenging aspect was that the book was written in what I guess could be called a southern black dialect (from the 1930s). It is always a challenge when an author writes in a way that one doesn’t ordinarily speak.

Leave a Reply

