Finish #54 – A Hatred For Tulips

You wouldn’t believe my excitement when I spotted a DVD of Far from the Madding Crowd at the library. I snatched that thing up with more excitement than most people would probably show for a movie based on a classic. (Or at least more excitement than they would willingly show in public.) I’m ashamed to say, though, that it put me to sleep two nights in a row. (The second night, I didn’t even make it five minutes before my eyes were crossing from exhaustion.) In my defense, it had been a very busy weekend! The movie really wasn’t snore-worthy. It was actually quite good and followed the novel well. I really hate it when movies are vastly different from the novels on which they are based. Anyone else feel the same?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMy most recent finish is A Hatred for Tulips by Richard Lourie. I read The Diary of Anne Frank many years ago. This book, a fictional account of a boy named Joop who lived during WWII, tells a tale of how Anne Frank’s family was betrayed.

I seem to have this strange, unexplainable interest in books set during WWII. I think it all began with a research paper I wrote in high school.

I found A Hatred for Tulips to be thought-provoking. What would you do to help your family in a time of great need? What would you do if desperate for a parent’s love and acceptance? And how do you live with your actions?

Leave a Reply

