Finish #46 – The Guardian

P7271788.JPG

Finish #46, The Guardian, was supposed to be my vacation book. I read a Dee Henderson book on vacation last year and decided I would try to do the same this year. I finally got started on it on the LONG ride home.

I enjoy Dee Henderson books. There’s suspense, romance, and a Christian theme. In this one you know who the bad guy is from the beginning. You know his motive. You just don’t know if he’s going to get to the girl before the law gets him. (Well, you can pretend that you don’t know that. It is, after all, a romance, and how often do the main characters not end up happily ever after in romances?…Don’t consider Fault in Our Stars-which I found dreadful- or just about any Nicholas Sparks book when answering that question.) Still, despite knowing just about everything, it was an enjoyable book to read.

I promised vacation highlights over the next couple of posts. Here’s what we did on our second day in North Carolina:DSCN1456

DSCN1461DSCN1467

 

 

 

 

 

It was a crazy idea, but it was on the Bucket List so it had to be done. It was actually the main reason we vacationed in North Carolina. We climbed a mountain. Actually, we climbed Mt. Mitchell, the highest mountain east of the Mississippi.

We climbed over roots and rocks for HOURS. It was gloriously quiet…except for that constant whine of bugs that seemed to come from all around us. (And if you listened real closely, the sound of sweat dripping from our bodies and dropping onto the ground below.) Unlike Michigan bugs, though, they left us mostly alone.

It took us five hours to get up the mountain. We emerged onto a smooth paved pathway made for those folks who like to drive up the mountain, park in a parking lot, avoid nature, and say they were on the peak. It was weird. After so many hours of solitude, we were rudely thrust back into civilization. All those fresh-faced people chit-chatting around us while all we wanted was some quiet to enjoy the view and privacy to assess and dress blisters. I have to say, I thought going UP a mountain would be more difficult than going down. Was I ever wrong! It took only four hours to get down, but after the first mile or so, my toes were in agony. Every step was torture. You cannot imagine my joy at seeing our car at the end of that trek. You cannot imagine the aching muscles I had the next day…and I’m in pretty decent shape. But, all in all, it was an awesome experience, and I got to do it with my best friend, my husband.

 

Leave a Reply

