Finish #45 – Match Me If You Can

P7151784.JPGThe librarians would cringe…I took a library book on vacation! There wasn’t a lot of time to read, as we were either busy doing adventurous things or too tired to even pick up a book. But I still managed to get this one finished.

Finish #45 is Match Me If You Can by Susan Elizabeth Phillips. (Yes, this is the third book of hers that I’ve read in a very short amount of time.) I enjoyed this tale of Matchmaker Annabelle and her client Heath. It was lighthearted and fun, and the secondary story line was intriguing also.

So, about those adventurous things…I thought I’d take the next few posts to share some of our stories and pictures. Once upon a time, many years ago, hubby and I managed to get away from our parenting duties for one singular night to see Les Miserables. On rare occasions, our three kids attended overnights at church which afforded us with a few hours of kid free time, but there was never enough time to actually go somewhere. But this year all three headed out of town on a mission trip, and we were left with several days in a row to do whatever we wanted.

What did we do?

We attacked the Bucket List.

We spent Sunday driving all the way to North Carolina. (It was a crazy long day as we’d had to get the kiddos to church by 4:30 a.m. For me, that’s practically the middle of the night!) We started Monday with a white water rafting trip. That bus in the photo doesn’t move, but it was kind of cool. Let me tell you something about myself. I hate water activities. I think it all goes back to a bad experience at swimming lessons when I was a kid. I don’t like boating. I am terrified of kayaks. But I braved (sort of and very badly) the teeny tiny rapids in a two-person inflatable kayak because hubby wanted to go. I found the whole experience quite terrifying. When hubby had to get out of the kayak and get us unstuck from a rock, I had horrifying visions of him freeing the kayak and the kayak zipping down the river with me in it and him left behind. (Obviously this particular activity was not on my bucket list.)

DSCN1413.JPGThe afternoon was spent horseback riding in the Smoky Mountains, which would tick off “ride a horse” from my Bucket List. Here’s what’s funny about that experience: We ended up wetter after horseback riding than we did rafting. It started to rain (after the photo was taken), and we found it refreshing at first when it was just dripping from the sky. But then it started to pour. The wind started to blow. The water sloshed in our shoes. Our clothes were drenched. The horses were slipping around in the mud. But my horse, Buck, got me back safely, I didn’t end up falling off into a pile of nasty horse stuff, and hubby’s horse-riding Auntie told me “you rock” for making it through that exciting ride when she heard about it later!

DSCN1421.JPGStay tuned for more vacation excitement!

Leave a Reply

