Finish #44 – The Modern Magi

P7061781.JPGFinish #44, The Modern Magi by Carol Lynn Pearson, was a quick, but thought-provoking, read. Seriously quick. I think it took me about 30 minutes to finish. I actually picked this book up to complete a square for our library summer challenge. The challenge was to read a book that you could read in one day. I was so busy reading other things that I missed out on picking this up in June. Then July rolled around and that challenge was not one of the July challenges. I decided to read it anyway. I’m glad I did.

The main character in The Modern Magi is Annabelle Perkins. She wants to go to Bethlehem to give Jesus a gift. That’s all I’ll say. Saying anymore would ruin the story for those who want to read it. With less than 100 pages, you can’t say too much without giving away the plot!

So Luna, the dog who should be an Internet sensation but isn’t, had a bad experience this week. My daughter says, “Some people ride the ‘struggle bus.’ Luna lives on it.” Other daughter says, “Do all dogs have this much trouble?” Having never owned a dog before, I’m clueless how to answer that question.

We returned from our evening walk, and Luna was shaking her head vigorously, rubbing her face on the floor, and panting madly. We took her to the basement to cool her off, and finally the panting subsided. The kids peppered us with pleaIMAG0618.jpgs to call the vet. After paying one “after hours emergency fee” when she tangled with a  porcupine, we weren’t too thrilled at the idea of paying another. So, making our kids think we were horrible pet owners, we decided to just wait and see. Waiting and seeing involved Luna’s head on my lap and a cool rag on her face. Within no time, she was back to her usual self, tail wagging and acting like nothing had happened. This little gal had better stop finding trouble!   IMAG0620.jpg

Leave a Reply

