Finish #33 – Covet

P5121749.JPGI love this time of year! Look at those pretty flowers! As soon as they stop blooming, middle daughter and I are going to transplant them elsewhere and do something a little different out back. I love the phlox, but it’s gotten a little out of hand over the past few years. To think, all that came from two little containers that just kept spreading and I kept dividing. We have a bank just to the left of the stairs that will look great covered in phlox. If only it would keep flowering all summer long!

I am such a “haphazard” gardener. I don’t really like things to be regimented. Some people like blocks of identical plants; some people like rows or edges of all the same thing. Not me. I just like pretty stuff no matter where it is! If plants grow where they don’t “belong,” I leave them…even if they are growing in the “lawn.” (Although I did remove a few Spiderwort plants that had somehow ended up in the yard. Short stuff, like Creeping Thyme can stay, but the tall stuff has to go elsewhere, since the mower would just cut it back.) Occasionally, though, I feel the need to put a little order to the beautiful wild mess. So that is what we are going to do this summer.

P5121744.JPG

Speaking of flowers, look at all the flowers on the cover of Finish #33, Covet by Tracey Garvis Graves. Unless I missed something, there was no field of flowers in the story that the main character stood in. But it’s a nice cover anyway, and the story was enjoyable.

The story centers on Chris and Claire Canton whose marriage has hit a rough patch. I won’t go into the particulars, as I don’t want to spoil the plot. I will say, though, that I could hardly put the book down. I actually sat at the table after breakfast finishing it up when I should have been doing something else!

Leave a Reply

