Finish #32 – Into the Wild

Spring has finally arrived, and the outdoors has exploded with greenery! Here’s a photo of my favorite view in the whole world, and I’m lucky enough to get to look at it every single day.

P5121746.JPGOf course it doesn’t always look like this. Sometimes everything is covered in a blanket of snow. Sometimes the trees are covered in beautiful fall leaves. Sometimes the pond has that “thawing” look about it…all murky and nasty brown. But, no matter the season, I’d still rather see this view everyday than any other view.

So, along with spring came a heat wave. I won’t complain. (I will complain about the mosquitoes, though!) Let’s just say that I appreciate winter a little bit more with each degree that the mercury rises above 72 (and with each mosquito bite that I have to scratch). Currently it’s 77 degrees in the house. That’s three degrees away from maybe turning on the AC. Much to the displeasure of the youth in the family, we happen to be AC Scrooges. I’ll admit that I enjoy this season when I don’t have hands that look like they belong on a corpse. There is a limit, though, to how much heat even I can stand.

Silly me, I decided to clean out some of the veggies in the fridge at the beginning of the week and make soup…lots and lots of soup. There’s cabbage soup, vegetable soup, and French onion soup. As I write this in my 77 degree house, I am eating a massive bowl of vegetable soup…and I am sweating whilst not doing anything more tasking than moving my fingers on the keyboard! Perhaps all that soup wasn’t the best idea!

A strange coincidence occurred when I was at the library picking out books a few weeks ago. When I selected After the Wind, Finish #31, I also selected Into the Wild, Finish #32. This was strange because Into the Wild was written by Jon Krakauer. Jon Krakauer happened to be on Everest in 1996 with the author of After the Wind. Jon Krakauer made it to the summit on that fateful day AND managed to live to tell about it. Another strange coincidence is that Into the Wild was published in 1996…the year of the Everest expedition.

P5121743.JPG

Into the Wild tells the true story of Christopher McCandless, a young man who disappeared from the life he had been living, roamed from place to place, then finally entered the Alaskan wilderness (which wasn’t as remote as he assumed) where he perished.

I am looking forward to watching the film, which is waiting in our library basket for an evening when we’ve got the time to watch it.

Leave a Reply

