Finish #30 – Night

P5021741.JPGI don’t know how many books I’ve read about the Holocaust, but the number is large and growing with Finish #30, Night, by Elie Wiesel. I can pinpoint when my “interest” (that word has too positive a sound for my use here, but I can’t think of any other word to use) began. In my World Cultures class in high school (what grade that was, I can’t recall), we were assigned to write a paper about an historic event from the opposite perspective than we normally would. For me that became a paper on the Holocaust…not on the horrors, but on the benefits of the medical discoveries made in the concentration camps. I know what you are thinking. How is it possible to put a positive spin on something so horrific? It wasn’t easy.

Night is the true account of the author’s time in a Nazi death camp. It is a brutal reminder of how evil man can be. When reading books or watching movies about this period of time, I am always disturbed by how one man, one evil man, managed to pull so many people into his cause. Whether he was speaking to some bit of evil that was already in them or he managed to create the evil and hate with just the power of his words, it should serve as a warning to everyone of every generation of how we need to make certain that no one ever gains power like that again.

On a lighter note, I’m 20 books away from the 50 that I hope to have read by the end of June if I want to maintain some sort of schedule. It might be difficult to get that many in as it’s finally getting warmer and outside tasks will be calling my name and exhaustion will be my companion in the evenings. I visited the library yesterday and found way too many books to add to my already full basket. I can’t seem to help myself. It’s like I go in there and grab books because they are FREE and I get to keep them for up to nine weeks if I want. Who could resist that?!

Leave a Reply

