Finish #18 – The Singing Tree

Last time I wrote, I shared some photos of Belle, the cat, engaged in her favorite activity: sleeping. I couldn’t resist sharing some other recent cat photos. These are of Buster and BooBoo (brothers who just turned 15).

IMAG0350IMAG0352.jpg

Poor BooBoo is the one on the bottom. These two liked to cuddle together when they were young fellas, but they weren’t so cuddly as “teenagers.” Now that they have edged into “old men” status, Buster has become ridiculous with his cuddling. In all fairness, he’s old, he’s horribly thin, and his ears are always cold. I think he’s seeking warmth. (Don’t feel too sorry for him, though. He’s still got it in him to terrorize the dog when the mood strikes.) We’ve pondered why Buster seems so old and BooBoo, though the same age, still seems like he’s got a lot of life left in him. We’ve determined that BooBoo is sort of like Rogue from X-Men. Whenever Buster cuddles up with him, BooBoo drains out Buster’s youth and takes it for himself. I really like that photo on the right. BooBoo’s had it with being squashed and is pulling himself out from under Buster with great effort. He’s like toothpaste being squeezed out of the tube!

But enough about the cats! Finish #18 is The Singing Tree by Kate Seredy. This was another book that I read to the kids. It’s a sequel to the book The Good Master, which at least one of them has already read this year. (My son tends to always be behind on the “reading list.” He’d much rather do computer things that I simply don’t understand. He uses words like “quad core” and the like, and I just shake my head and freely admit that I have absolutely no idea what he’s talking about.)

I enjoyed The Singing Tree. (I just found a quote by CS Lewis that seems quite appropriate whenever I read a children’s novel and enjoy it: “A children’s story that can only be enjoyed by children is not a good children’s story in the slightest.” This was actually a recent answer to the Cryptoquote in the newspaper. I finally figured out how to solve them and now feel like a genius.) Set in Hungary during World War I, it tells the story of Kate and Jancsi and their family as they and those around them deal with sending loved ones off to war and the losses that sometimes follow. I might just have to pick up The Good Master and give that one a read, too.

 

Leave a Reply

