Finish #2 – Hoodwinked

DSCN1061Many, many years ago when my daughters were young and my son was still residing in my belly (he’s 12 now), I assumed that I needed to get out of the house and mingle with other mothers. So I went to a MOPS meeting. Well, you know what they say about people who “assume” things?? Apparently I’m just too much of an introvert to find groups of chit-chatting mothers to be even a tiny bit of fun. People talking all at once and interrupting one another…shudder!

But there was a bright side: I got a couple of free books. One of them was a little gem titled real Moms: Exploding the Myths of Motherhood by Elisa Morgan and Carol Kuykendall. I read through this book, extracting tidbits of wisdom to ponder, as I made my way through early motherhood.

When I saw Hoodwinked: Ten Myths Moms Believe and Why We All Need to Knock it Off by Karen Ehman and Ruth Schwenk on the newbie shelf at the library, I snatched it up, hoping that it would be just as insightful as the real Moms book. It did not disappoint.

While there was a plethora of guidance offered, three ideas really stood out which I will sum up here:

#1 – Quit worrying about being “just” a mom. I’m not “just” a mom. I do have a job. It’s a part-time job, so I’m not fully in the “working mom” camp nor do I fall into the “stay-at-home” camp. It’s a bit of an awkward place to be. Because I identify more with the “stay-at-homers,” I’ve often struggled with the idea of what “society” thinks of me. Here’s what I should think about what society thinks: WHO CARES. What I do matters to me, my husband, my children, and God. Their opinions are the only ones that should matter. Now if I just tell myself that a hundred times…

#2 – There is no right way to be a mother. So, could we quit with the Mommy Wars, please, please, please?

#3 – Quoting from the book (emphasis added) as I can’t think of a better way to say this, “Sometimes the big stuff, the stuff that echoes for eternity, is all wrapped up in the little stuff.”

So, Hoodwinked…definitely a good read.

Leave a Reply

