Finish #1

In January 2015, I set a goal to read 100 books in one year. There were no rules about what I would read…short or long…non-fiction or fiction…audio books, Kindle books, actual hold-it-in-your-hand hunk-of-pressed-tree-pulp books…kids novels, grown-up novels. The first half of the year went really well. I was on track to finish. Then we hit home improvement season, i.e. summer. Summer morphed into the longest fall we’ve ever had up in northern Michigan. The crazy long fall extended home improvement season into December when we could be found out in the garage staining trim for our basement. (If I EVER have to stain or poly another piece of wood trim…I better be getting paid to do it!)

Needless to say, goal accomplishment was looking a little dicey. But I pressed on and maybe picked books that were a little bit shorter. (And in the process found some authors I might never have read otherwise and read some books that packed quite a lot of deep-thinking in a small amount of pages.) On December 30, I started #100…and on December 31, 2015, with just a few hours to spare, I accomplished my goal!

Now it’s 2016, and I’ve set the same goal. Lest you think that all I do is sit around and read while eating bon-bons, let me disabuse you of that notion right now. I’ve never eaten a bon-bon. I’m also a wife, a mom to three homeschooled kids, a professional musician (who is actually employed as a musician), and chief chef, taxi driver, and maid around the house. Needless to say, reading time is minimal.

On to the good stuff…That picture down there contains the line-up on my nightstand right now. Here’s the bad stuff…I’ve got an issue. I started the Robyn Carr book, One Wish, thinking it would be a light, enjoyable romance to start the year off on a positive note. (Much needed after reading two books on human trafficking near the end of December.) I’m sorry, Robyn Carr, but SNORE. So I’m kind of stuck half-way through that one…I don’t want to quit on it, though, as I’ve already devoted time to half the book. Ghost Boy was started to get out of the Robyn Carr funk. Then I picked up Hoodwinked (Ten Myths Moms Believe) and knew I needed that wisdom in my life RIGHT NOW, so I started that one. And my fingers are itching to crack the cover on that Janet Evanovich book, but I won’t allow myself to do so until I get at least one of these finished.

DSCN1055

But all is not lost…I’ve got a finish to report. Here it is, the first one for 2016: Dr. Jenner and the Speckled Monster by Albert Marrin. I read this one to my kids as part of their homeschooling curriculum. Anti-vaccinators should give this one a read. Cue hate mail from the anti-vaccers now. Long story short: Small pox was eradicated, but (insert gloomy-doomy music soundtrack here) it could come back. (And believe me, that would be a really bad way to go. I’ve seen pictures of victims.)

Keep checking in. I’ll share my finishes along with my brutally honest opinion. You could share your finishes or suggestions of books I should try in the comments. In the near future, I’ll share my list of books from 2015.

DSCN1058

Leave a Reply

